Skip to main content

ENG 151: Academic Writing (McLean): Article Databases

Off-Campus Access

Remember you can access SMSU databases 24/7 from off-campus with your StarID login!

Interlibrary Loan

If you find a great article in the databases, but it isn't available full-text, remember that you can interlibrary loan materials.  The majority of the article requests will come straight to your SMSU email account as a link, but some will arrive as hardcopy in the mail.  Please ask for assistance if you're not sure how to complete an interlibrary loan request!  It's a free service for you!!!!

Article Databases

SMSU subscribes to several databases that could include information about your topic. You will want to try a few different databases as you search for information. Since the topic of obesity is health-related, I am steering you to a couple of health-focused databases. Please email me or ask at the Reference Desk if you're not finding what you need. There are likely other resources, databases, search terms, etc., to try to help you locate the needed research.  You can link to each database below or find them on the A-Z Database List:

Additional Databases

If you need to either expand or focus your search, you may want to select another database. For example, if your topic relates to school lunch or physical education classes in elementary school, you may want to search an Education database (e.g., Education Research Complete).  If you are exploring the role of processed food in the obesity epidemic, you might search a broader database such as Expanded Academic ASAP. If you focusing on the medical implications of obesity, you might begin searching in CINAHL, a nursing and allied health database.