Skip to main content

PE 602: Research Foundation in Sport: My EBSCO Account

EBSCO icon

This is the EBSCO icon that displays when you are in an EBSCO database. EBSCO is the name of the database vendor; that's who we purchase access rights through.

EBSCOhost

Features

Sign in to access your personalized account.

  • Save preferences
  • Organize your research with folders
  • Share your folders with others
  • View others' folders
  • Save and retrieve your search history
  • Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds
  • Gain access to your saved research remotely

My EBSCO icon

EBSCOhost

Once you are logged into the system, this icon will display.

Video Transcript

If you are unable to view the video on this page (or prefer a written version), the transcript is available here:

Create an Account (it's free!)

When you are in an EBSCO database (e.g., SPORTDiscus) select the Sign In option across the top tool bar; it's on the right-hand side. The first time you sign in, you'll need to create an account. It's a simple form. You can create your own user name and password. This account will work in all EBSCO databases.

Search History

During a session, your search history is retained. You can go back and review the searches you've completed. Most of us aren't good at documenting the search terms we use, so this Search History tracks that for us.  You can view previous results, revise search strategies, or use the searches to set up an alert.

The Search History disappears after you close your browser window.

Search Alert

Want the database to do some searching on your topic for you? Set up a search alert and the database will "push" articles out to you as they get added to the database.  You'll want to make sure you have a well-defined search strategy in place so you're only receiving messages on targeted results.

My EBSCO Video

This video clip will walk you through the process of creating your own MyEBSCO account, saving items to your folder, creating a search alert, and viewing your search history. After you start the video, click the box in the lower right-hand corner to enlarge the video.

Other Database Vendors

Keep in mind that only databases provided by EBSCO will have the MyEBSCO account available. If you are in another database such as Psych Journals that is a ProQuest database, you'd need to create an account with that vendor.  EBSCO Is the provider we have the most databases with so that's why we demo it, but realize the other vendors have the capability for you to create accounts as well.