Research Guides: Education (Early Childhood): Articles

Start with these Databases

The following databases are the best starting point for research related to the topic of early childhood education:

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Includes all levels of education and specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, many books, and conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Provides citations to millions of journal articles, books, and reports in the education field, including a growing collection of links to full-text. Includes citations to educational and general psychology literature.

Open Access Journals

Open access journals are online scholarly journals that are available without a subscription.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Early Childhood Research and Practice
Articles in this open-access, peer reviewed journal cover topics such as early care, education, and intervention.

Need More Options?

If you didn't find everything you were looking for in the recommended databases, do some searching in these additional databases or peruse the A-Z List:

Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text from more than 415 journals.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Articles, abstracts and book chapters for K-12 teachers and librarians.