Skip to main content

Education Administration: Find Articles

Where Do I Find Articles?

Articles (full text, abstracts, and citations) are found in databases. If you know the name of a database you want to use, go to the SMSU Library homepage and you'll find the complete listing of SMSU's databases:

Look under Research Help -- A to Z Database List

Watch the video about Accessing Databases Off-Campus for a visual walk-through.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a great place to begin your research, especially if the topic is new to you and you're uncertain of what kinds of keywords you should be using to find articles in library databases. 

If you're on campus, the books and articles at the SMSU Library are automatically linked up to your Google Scholar results. Never fear, however-- you can connect Google Scholar to the SMSU Library from wherever you are. 

Here's what you do: 

  • go to scholar.google.com
  • click on "settings" (the icon looks like a gear)
  • click on "library links" on the left side of the page
  • type in "Southwest Minnesota State University"
  • checkmark the two boxes that appear beneath the search box with SMSU's name next to them
  • click save

If you have a Google account, as long as you're logged in, Google will remember that you are searching SMSU. If you don't have an account, you'll need to repeat this process every time you open a new browser window or search on a new computer. 

Education Databases

The following databases are most pertinent to education-related research topics:

Video - Accessing Databases Off-Campus

After starting the video, click the full-screen option in the lower right-hand corner to enlarge this video clip.

Additional Databases

Deciding which database to use depends on your topic(s). While the education-related databases listed in the adjacent column work for most topics, there are some areas of research related to education that would be included in the following databases as well:

Video Transcripts

If you are unable to view the videos on this page, here are the transcripts: