Research Guides: Nursing Program: Article Databases

Where Do I Find Articles?

Articles (full text, abstracts, and citations) are found in databases. If you know the name of a database you need to use, go to the SMSU Library homepage and find the complete listing of databases under the A-Z Database List tab. Most of your BSN research will be done in the CINAHL Ultimate database.

See the Off-Campus Access tab for more information, including a visual walk-through of accessing databases from off-campus.

Nursing-related Databases

The following databases are most pertinent to nursing-related research topics:

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL Ultimate is a key resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text articles from over 1,600 journals. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly, full-text journals in many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Nursing & Allied Health Database includes a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Note: articles can be interlibrary loaned by clicking on the Search for Full Text button in PubMed citations.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature.

CINAHL Demonstrations

Please see the CINAHL Demonstration videos and transcripts for examples and explanations about using the CINAHL Complete Database. They are found on the page titled CINAHL Demonstrations under the Article Databases dropdown menu above.

Additional Databases

In addition to the nursing-related databases listed in the adjacent column, there are areas of research related to nursing, healthcare, and management that would be indexed in the following databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Database of full-text articles and reports in the complementary, holistic, and integrated health fields, including mental health.
MegaFile This link opens in a new window MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage includes material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text from more than 415 journals.