Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art Institute of Chicago
"Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe."
The British Museum is an incredible repository of human history and culture: almost 4.5 million objects. "High definition images can be enlarged and examined in detail which will enable you to view the incredible workmanship on the Royal Game of Ur, the intricate carving on this African hunting horn, the amazingly preserved deerskin map from North America, or this delightful drawing by Raphael of an old man's head – just a few of the thousands of highlights to discover." *Includes virtual tours of many galleries.
Like the Digital Public Library of America, but for Europe. "Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for. Our dedicated thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I contain galleries, blogs and exhibitions to inform and inspire."
The Fitzwilliam Museum houses a varied collection of arts and antiquities, including printed books and manuscripts, coins and medals, and applied arts.
Most of the art and artists represented in painting, drawing, sculpture, furniture, textiles, enamels, and clocks stem from the Western art tradition, though a collection of Eastern Porcelains can also be found.
Getty Search Gateway
The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
Google Arts and Culture
Explore by category. Categories include: Street View (famous sites and landmarks); 360-degree videos, color, time, movement, etc.
Google Image search
While it searches all sort of photos and other images, it's also a good place to search for specific pieces of art, design, architecture (etc.), you can also search by artist, genre, medium, movement, etc.
International Dada Archive
"The collection of the International Dada Archive is made up of works by and about the Dadaists including books, articles, microfilmed manuscript collections, videorecordings, sound recordings, and computer files."
The Met Collection
Search digital images of more than 5,000 years of art from across the globe—from the first cities of the ancient world to the works of our time.
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art sponsors an engaging virtual opportunity for visitors to peruse its collection.
National Gallery of Art Images
"A repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art."
"To get started enter a search term in the Quick Search box located in the upper right-hand corner of this page or browse the regularly updated featured-image collections prepared by Gallery staff."
Smithsonian Archives of American Art
Contains around 16 million letters, photographs, oral histories, sketches, scrapbooks, and other documents surrounding the United States' contributions to the visual arts
Smithsonian Collection image search
"Search over 14.9 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 3.9 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts."
State Hermitage Museum
Over 3 million items from the Stone Age to the present from all over the world.
Talk to us!
Text us: 507-205-4898
Call us: 507-537-6176
Email us: firstname.lastname@example.org
Photographs and other images