Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start with these Databases
The following databases are the best starting point for research related to the topic of United States history:
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new windowThe American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals held by American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select books and other materials.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2017) This link opens in a new windowArticles from the New York Times during 1851-2017.
Newsstream: US News Sources This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Need More Options?
If you didn't find everything you were looking for in the three recommended databases, do some searching in these additional databases or peruse the A-Z List:
MegaFile This link opens in a new windowMegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles in humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
United States History Journals