Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Harvard's Online Resources for Music Scholars
"The following guide provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites."
Carnegie Hall's Performance History Search
This database contains the more than 50,000 performances that have taken place at Carnegie Hall, including information about composers, performers, and repertoire.
Millennium Stage Broadcast Archive
Sponsored by the Kennedy Center, this video archive features full-length performances of a diverse array of musical styles and performers, from hip-hop to jazz to classical.
Don't forget pronunciation
Finding musical performances
AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music
"The traditional musicological approach is to see music as a written text reproduced in performance. But much music does not exist in the form of a written text, circulating purely in the form of recordings. And even when music does exist as a written text, performers play an essential role in creating the experience that, for most people, is the music. CHARM was established to promote a musicology that better reflects the nature of music as experienced in the twentieth century and beyond." This initiative currently boasts over 5000 sound files, with new recordings added daily.
National Jukebox from the Library of Congress
Don't let the title fool you: this collection contains a wide range of classical recordings from American performers as well as popular music recordings.
Global Music Archive
"The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas."
Frontera Collection of Mexican American Music
"Over 100,000 songs celebrating North America’s Spanish-language musical heritage."
Finding scores online
There is a rich trove of free choral and instrumental music that has gone out of copyright floating around if you know where to look. Here are some places that might provide you with different translations and interpretations:
Finding information about performers and performances
Finding information on top-notch singers and performers can be difficult if you're not already immersed in the music. Ask your applied teacher for recommendations, or browse professional critics' opinions:
Folk Song Sources
The Full English Digital Archive
With the goal of preserving and fostering English traditional song, music, and dance, this initiative of the Vaughn Williams Memorial Library contains more than 60,000 digitized images from the manuscript collections of noted folk song collectors.