Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LEP 100: Additional Resources

Statistics

Statista is a great database for finding statistics and infographics on many different topics that can serve as informative and attractive additions to PowerPoints, websites, and other various projects.

News Sources

Newsstream provides the very latest local, regional and national news from over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is another search tool you can use to find articles. Scholar indexes scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, but note that many are not available full-text.

SMSU has it set up so that if you search in the databases, but it's not full-text in any of our databases, we'll recommend looking in Google Scholar.  If you start your search in Google Scholar instead of the databases and you're on campus, you'll see a similar function in Google Scholar as we have it set up to push back to our databases if we have it full-text there. You'll see the "search for full-text" link in the right-hand column. Unfortunately, this functionality doesn't work off-campus. That's why I would recommend beginning your search in the databases; you'll find many more full-text articles there and/or be able to quickly and easily submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.

So knowing that the article might be full-text in the database or you could interlibrary loan a copy, you'd never purchase an article, right? 

Google Scholar Search

Government Documents

The United States Government distributes materials in a variety of formats, including electronic and print. As part of its publishing program, the U.S. Government distributes certain government documents free of cost to designated libraries throughout the United States and its territories, and SMSU's McFarland Library is one of these Government Document Repositories.

If you need help utilizing government information, please consult our Government Information Research Guide or ask a librarian.