Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where Do I Find Articles?
Articles (full text, abstracts, and citations) are found in databases. If you know the name of a database you need to use, go to the SMSU Library homepage and you can find it in A-Z List of Databases under Research Help.
You can also search your topic in One Search and retrieve articles. See the One Search tab for detailed instructions.
Databases Designed for Elementary and Middle School Researchers
The following databases are most pertinent to education-related research topics:
Teacher Reference Center Articles, abstracts and book chapters for K-12 teachers and librarians.
Education Research Complete Includes all levels of education and specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, many books, and conference papers.
Deciding which database to use depends on your topic(s). While the education-related databases listed in the above box work for most topics, there are some areas of research related to education that would be included in the following databases as well:
Communication & Mass Media Complete CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. The database includes full text for over 450 journals.
MegaFile MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
Psychology Database Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text from more than 415 journals.
Points of View Reference Center Great for argumentative essays or persuasive speeches, this full-text database provides controversial essays on multiple sides of a current issue. Articles are accompanied by supporting articles from top political and societal publications.