Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creative Commons: Collections & Adaptations

Description of Collections & Licensing Considerations

A collection takes individual creative works and inserts them into a collective piece,
while keeping the original works intact (i.e., not edited, remixed, adapted).  

Licensing Considerations
When Creative Commons licensed content is used in a collection, providing attribution and indicating the license of the original works must be included for each work in the collection.  It is important to pay close attention to the types of licenses included in a collection. For example, if the collection is intended to be used commercially, it would be important not to include works that have a NC license as including them (and then using the collection commercially) violates the original licensing restrictions of NC

The collection can have its own license, but that will only cover materials created by the author that are part of the collection. In other words, the collection may include works with a variety of licenses such as CC-BY, CC-BY-SA, and CC-BY-NC, but the entire work could have a CC-BY license that would only extend to the author's original work in the collection. The licenses for the items included in the collection remain in effect.

Remixes / Adapted Works / Derivative Works Description & Licensing Considerations

remix (sometimes also referred to as an adaptation or a derivative) mixes material
from different sources to create a brand new work.

Licensing Considerations
When making an adaptation it is necessary to consider the license compatibility so you avoid applying a CC license to your adapted work that is incompatible with the licenses of works you used to create your adaptation. For example, a work licensed CC BY can be remixed with works that have 
a CC BY, CC BY-SA, or CC BY-NC, but not CC BY-ND.  The license you choose must be the same license applied to the original or a license that is designated as compatible to the original license.

When your work is a remix that blends multiple CC licensed works, deciding on which CC license you can apply to your new work can be tricky. This CC compatibility chart can help determine which licenses are useable with other licenses. If there is an "X" in the box then the works may not be remixed unless an exception or limitation applies. Note the two licenses that include ND - NoDerivatives does not allow for remixing/adapting for any public use. 

compatibility chart

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"CC License Compatibility Chart"  by Creative Commons is licensed under CC BY 4.0

For more information about licensing and remixing, please see Creative Commons Compatible Licenses and
Creative Commons Frequently Asked Questions about Combining and Adapting CC Material.

This collection “Partner Hobbies Combined” by Pam Gladis is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0. CC BY NC

pacer"pacer" by vikapproved is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

I love to bike!

 


 

Thrill of the hunt

Chief Master Sgt. Kevin Peterson demonstrates safe archery techniques while aiming an arrow at a target on the 28th Force Support Squadron trap and skeet range at Ellsworth Air Force Base, S.D., Oct. 11, 2012.public domain license

My husband loves to bow hunt!
 


 

Upcycle Fetish 2"Upcycle Fetish 2" by Andreas Scheiger is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0

When I saw this picture of mounted bike parts, my first thought was - this is our hobbies combined :) 
(Technically I suppose it would be more representative of the end result of my husband's hobby combined with parts of the equipment of mine!)

Attribution

Creative Commons By Share Alike License icon

This work “Collections & Adaptations" by Pam Gladis is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. This work is a derivative of January 2020 Creative Commons Certificate for Educators and Librarians by Creative Commons under a CC BY 4.0 license.