Research Guides: Botany: Article Databases

Nomad Extension

If you use the Chrome browser, you might find it useful to download this LibKey Nomad Chrome extension. LibKey Nomad automatically provides instant links to full text content for articles subscribed to by the SMSU Library - or to open access alternatives - as you do research on the web. After downloading the extension, select Southwest Minnesota State University. This is a one-time setting on your personal computer.

Start with these Databases

The following three databases are the best starting point for research related to botany:

Agricultural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Watch this video for a brief introduction to Agricultural Science Collection.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Watch this video for a brief introduction to GreenFILE.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Watch this video for a brief introduction to ScienceDirect.

Need More Options?

If you didn't find everything you were looking for in the three recommended databases, do some searching in these additional databases or peruse the A-Z List:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text archive of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select books and other materials.
PNAS This link opens in a new window Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.

Botany Journals

Open Access Journals

Open access journals are online scholarly journals that are available without a subscription.

Directory of Open Access Journals This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.