Research Guides: SWRK 344: Community Analysis Assignment: Qualitative Data

Qualitative Data

Qualitative data is information that aren't expressed by numbers. This can include newspaper stories, agency reports, community needs assessments, and books and reference materials on the history of the community. Below you will find both library databases and web resources to aid your research.

Check out the Social Work Guide to find how to search for books in the SMSU collection!

Library Databases

Reference materials

Britannica Online Encyclopedia - Academic Edition
Full text of the most recent edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, with cross references to related articles and links to select web resources.
CREDO Reference
A reference source that includes full text content covering a variety of major subjects.

Newspapers

Newsstream: US News Sources
Contains the most recent content from U.S. newspapers, news providers, and archives, which stretch back into the 1980s.
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
A searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online.

Web Resources

State resources

Minnesota Chambers of Commerce
Scroll down to see a list of Minnesota city/community chambers of commerce.

Local resources

Lyon County
Lyon County is a county in the U.S. state of Minnesota. As of the 2020 census, the population was 25,269. Its county seat is Marshall. Lyon County comprises the Marshall, MN Micropolitan Statistical Area.
City of Marshall
Includes city government and other local resources