Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Use the databases to find trade and scholarly articles about teaching, education, parenting, etc. about your ethnic group and/or their country of origin.
Remember you can access SMSU databases 24/7 from off-campus with your StarID login!
Remember to take advantage of the citation shortcuts in the databases. They will provide you with the basics needed for your APA citation. You will want to double-check them!
In EBSCO databases, after you're viewing the article you'll see the Cite option in the right-hand column.
In ProQuest databases, the Cite option appears in the blue bar above the article text.
SMSU subscribes to several databases that could include information about your topic. You may need to try a few different databases to find information specific to your culture. Here are the databases I'd suggest trying first, but please email me or contact the Reference Desk if you're not finding what you need. There are likely other resources, databases, search terms, etc., to try to help you locate the needed research. Each database is linked below, but you can also find these on the A-Z Database List:
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes all levels of education and specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, many books, and conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to millions of journal articles, books, and reports in the education field, including a growing collection of links to full-text. Includes citations to educational and general psychology literature.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators, professional librarians and education researchers including nearly 520 high quality education journals. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage includes material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage from top psychology and related publications.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCovers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowArticles, abstracts and book chapters for K-12 teachers and librarians.
If you find a great article in the databases, but it isn't available full-text, remember that we can interlibrary loan materials for you. The majority of the article requests will come straight to your SMSU email account as a link, but some will arrive as hard copy in the mail. Please ask for assistance if you're not sure how to complete an interlibrary loan request. It's a free service for you!
Additional Search Tool
Although not a library database, you might want to try Google Scholar as another source for scholarly articles. Note that many articles are not available full-text in Google Scholar.