Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended sites: Student Organizations
The Drama Club provides all students, regardless of their major, with the opportunity to learn all aspects of theater through hands-on experience. Drama Club provides a meeting ground in which people from the University community, with common interest in theater, can grow and learn from one another.
SMSU's student-run organization of individuals who enjoy and take part in theatre. We have a season every year in our Black Box Theatre of at least two full-fledged productions, and other various activites that people can take part in.
Meetings are every Tuesday @ 12:00 in the Green Room, located in the Fine Arts building, Room 104.
The SMSU Theatre Program provides students from any major the opportunity to participate in theatre productions as an extracurricular activity, and also offers academic and co-curricular opportunities through the Theatre major, minors, and classes.
The Theatre Program produces three plays and/or musicals a year. These productions traditionally take place in the Southwest Minnesota State University Fine Arts Theatre. Everyone is invited to work on productions. Auditions for SMSU Mainstage Theatre productions are open to all students and community members.
Here are some recommended websites related to the topic of Theatre:
Internet Broadway Database
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Library of Congress: Music, Theater, Dance
The scope of these collections includes books, periodicals, playbills, manuscripts, letters, promptbooks, production photographs, and scenic design.
Playbill.com has the most incisive news, current listings for Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Regional productions, and informative features about every aspect of theatre.
PlaybillVault is a comprehensive database of Broadway history from Playbill Inc.
Lantern: Media history digital library
The search and visualization platform for over 800,000 pages of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
UNT Digital Library: Texas Fashion Collection
The UNT Texas Fashion Collection is dedicated to the preservation and documentation of historically significant fashion, and serves as an educational and inspirational resource for students, researchers, and the general public. This vital resource is part of the UNT College of Visual Arts + Design.