Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Search
Three topical categories of databases are listed in the next column. The first group ("Begin Searching Here") will likely be a good fit for any research being conducted in this Master's program. The additional listings may be appropriate depending on your specific research topic. If you are leaning towards a topic more geared towards Education, give those databases a shot. If your topic has a more health-related spin, check out those listed under Health. Keep in mind that these are only recommended starting points for your research. They are not the only options, so if you're not finding what you need, explore the complete list of databases in the A-Z Database List. Or ask a Librarian! :)
SportDISCUS Video Demonstration
You can expand this video to full screen using the arrows in the lower right of the video box.
If you are unable to view the video (or prefer a written version), the transcript is available.
Begin Searching Here
Not sure where to find the databases? Need search strategy tips? Check out the video demonstration of SportDISCUS in left column on this page.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage from top psychology and related publications.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage includes material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCovers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text from more than 415 journals.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes all levels of education and specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, many books, and conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to millions of journal articles, books, and reports in the education field, including a growing collection of links to full-text. Includes citations to educational and general psychology literature.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides nursing and allied health professionals access to over 1300 full text nursing and allied health journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 550 scholarly, full-text journals in many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowCitations (note: NOT full text) to the journal literature in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Articles can be Interlibrary LoanedNote: Use the free PubMed web version of this resource to search for linked full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Note: articles can be interlibrary loaned by clicking on the Search for Full Text button in PubMed citations.
Google Scholar is another search tool you can use to find articles. Scholar indexes scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, but note that many are not available full-text.
SMSU has it set up so that if you search in the databases, but it's not full-text in any of our databases, we'll provide a link for you to check for the full-text in Google Scholar. If it's not full-text there, though, please come back to the library site and request the article via Interlibrary Loan.
If you're on campus and you start your search in Google Scholar instead of the databases, you'll see a similar function in Google Scholar as we have it set up to push back to our databases if it is available full-text there. You'll see the "search for full-text" link in the right-hand column. Unfortunately, this functionality doesn't work off-campus. That's why I would recommend beginning your search in the databases; you'll find many more full-text articles there and/or be able to quickly and easily submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.
So knowing that the article might be full-text in a database or you could interlibrary loan a copy, you'd never purchase an article, right?