Research Guides: THTR 220: Film and Television Appreciation: Assignment 4

When is it due?

Due: November 11, 2013 by 10pm.

Check out these websites!

Lantern: Media history digital library
The search and visualization platform for over 800,000 pages of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
more...less...
An open access co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Communication Arts.

Internet Movie Database
IMDb is now the world’s most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. It offers a searchable database of more than 100 million data items including more than 2 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and more than 4 million cast and crew members.

Discuss the history of your film

This assignment will be very individualized--everyone's film will have different information (so don't worry if yours doesn't look like the next guy's!). You will need to discuss the history of your film in a 1-2 page paper. Here are some aspects to consider:

How did the film come about?
Who's idea was it?
Is there a stage version?
What is the film's release date?
Is there original work or are there original storyboards from it?

THIS WILL BE FUN!!!

These databases are particularly helpful:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
MegaFile This link opens in a new window Thousands of popular and scholarly publications across all academic disciplines and subject areas. Comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window Articles from the New York Times during 1851-2020.
Proquest Databases - ALL This link opens in a new window This allows an user to search all SMSU-subscribed ProQuest databases at once.