Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Keep in mind
Keep in mind that not everything you find when you limit to "scholarly," "peer reviewed," "academic," or "refereed" results in your search will actually be a journal article.
Some things will be book reviews. Some will be letters to the editor.
Characteristics of actual academic journal articles:
- often have abstracts (summaries) at the beginning
- number from 5-25 pages
- employs disciplinary jargon (specialized vocabulary)
Finding academic journals
You have several choices in finding academic journals:
OneSearch (the big search box on the SMSU Library's homepage)
Individual databases (easier to sort through-- if you have a good sense of your topic, go to one or all of these):
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed publications in many areas of academic study including humanities, education, computer sciences, ethnic studies, and social sciences.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 2,100 business discipline journals is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. The database includes full text for over 450 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select books and other materials.
MegaFile This link opens in a new windowMegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles in humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Proquest Databases - ALL This link opens in a new windowAll Proquest Databases SMSU subscribes to are available for searching at once through this link.