Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Smarthistory is the most visited art history resource in the world. We are the official provider of art history for khanacademy.org, and we support AP art history and A-level curriculum. Smarthistory supports students, instructors, and lifelong learners everywhere."
The British Museum is an incredible repository of human history and culture: almost 4.5 million objects. "High definition images can be enlarged and examined in detail which will enable you to view the incredible workmanship on the Royal Game of Ur, the intricate carving on this African hunting horn, the amazingly preserved deerskin map from North America, or this delightful drawing by Raphael of an old man's head – just a few of the thousands of highlights to discover." *Includes virtual tours of many galleries.
Cleveland Museum of Art
Be sure to use the Advanced Search. View selected objects in 3D.
Like the Digital Public Library of America, but for Europe. "Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for. Our dedicated thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I contain galleries, blogs and exhibitions to inform and inspire."
"HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public."
Metropolitan Museum of Art - The Collection Online
Browse by Artist/Maker/Culture, Object Type/Materials, Geographic Location, Date/Era, Department.
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art sponsors an engaging virtual opportunity for visitors to peruse its collection.
Rijks Studio: Rijksmuseum
Amsterdam’s Rijksmuseum has put over 700,000 digitized copies of its art collection online. The images are in the public domain and available to reuse.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art
Contains around 16 million letters, photographs, oral histories, sketches, scrapbooks, and other documents surrounding the United States' contributions to the visual arts
State Hermitage Museum
Over 3 million items from the Stone Age to the present from all over the world.
Van Gogh Worldwide
"Van Gogh Worldwide is a free digital platform providing art-historical and technical data about the work of Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890). The artist produced a total of approximately 2000 artworks, and the aim of Van Gogh Worldwide is to present data for these in an accessible way, via a user-friendly website. Van Gogh Worldwide is being constructed gradually. For now, all works by Vincent van Gogh in the Netherlands are being presented: over 1000 paintings and works on paper. As from 2021, data for works located in other parts of the world will be added to the platform."