Research Guides: Art History: American Art

Start here

OneSearch
American Art Timeline
From the Phillips Collection.
Timeline: 100 years of Art in America
Highlights of the art and artists that were subjects of the articles published in the journal, Art in America, from 1913 - 2013.
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art

The Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Reference Collection - 3rd Floor N31 .D5 1996

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window A reference source that includes full text content covering a variety of major subjects.

History of African-American Artists
Call Number: 3rd Floor N6538.N5 B38 1993
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
Call Number: 3rd Floor (Reference) NA 680 .E495
A Guide to the Architecture of Minnesota
Call Number: 3rd Floor (Reference) NA 730 .M6 G42

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window Articles from the New York Times during 1851-2020.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Covers fields in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, features full-text articles from scholarly journals.

Browse Conversations on American Art

Expand Your Book Search

Once you've searched OneSearch, expand your search by using the dropdown arrow by the search box. Select "All MnPals Libraries." The search results will include the Minnesota Historical Society.

Once you've searched All MnPals Libraries, the next step would be to try these.

Marshall-Lyon County Library
Minneapolis Institute of Arts Library
"One of the Midwest’s premiere research centers dedicated to the study of art. The library’s holdings provide special collection and rare printed materials as well as digitized texts/images and cutting-edge online research tools."
MnLINK Online catalog for Minnesota’s public and academic libraries.
WorldCat Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Also find links to additional OCLC worldwide databases: ArticleFirst, Electronic Books, A&I, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, Dissertation and Theses.

Primary Sources, Museums...

Smithsonian American Art Museum
The museum has been a leader in identifying and collecting significant aspects of American visual culture, including photography, modern folk and self-taught art, African American art, Latino art, and video games. The museum has the largest collection of New Deal art and exceptional collections of contemporary craft, American impressionist paintings and masterpieces from the Gilded Age. In recent years, the museum has focused on strengthening its contemporary art collection, and in particular media arts, through acquisitions, awards, curatorial appointments, endowments, and by commissioning new artworks.
Archives of American Art
Oral Interviews
From the Archives of American Art in the Smithsonian
HathiTrust
Digital Public Library of America
Minnesota Historical Society
Minnesota Reflections From the Minnesota Digital Library, a statewide collaborative effort between libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums to create a digital collection unique to the state of Minnesota and its residents. Access more than 30,000 images, maps, and documents of Minnesota's history.
House and Building History Research
From the Minnesota Historical Society
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1789 - 1963
From the Library of Congress.