Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start with these Databases
The following three databases are the best starting point for research related to the topic of sociology:
Proquest Databases - ALL This link opens in a new windowAll Proquest Databases SMSU subscribes to are available for searching at once through this link.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage includes material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
These three databases are more advanced, but include a wealth of information related to sociology. Use the Advanced Search options in each database to narrow to resources in the Social Sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select books and other materials.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles in humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCovers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature.
Need More Options?
If you didn't find everything you were looking for in the three recommended databases, do some searching in these additional databases or peruse the A-Z List:
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides nursing and allied health professionals access to over 1300 full text nursing and allied health journals.
Newsstream: US News Sources This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.