Research Guides: Sociology: Getting Started

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help you locate resources about the topic of sociology. Use the tabs across the top to get information about different resources you can utilize. As always, if you have questions, please contact a Librarian. We're here to help!

Ask a Librarian

Ask Us a Question!

If an SMSU Librarian isn't available via chat right now, please email
askref@smsu.edu
or call
507/537-6176

Research Consultations

Need some research help? Consider scheduling a Research Consultation with a Librarian.

Electronic Reference Resources

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language
Publication date: 2000

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window A reference source that includes full text content covering a variety of major subjects.
Britannica Online Encyclopedia - Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Full text of the most recent edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, with cross references to related articles and links to select web resources.
Statista This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that contains national and international statistics and studies.

Print Reference Resources

A great place to start your research is in Reference Books. These are kept on the 3rd floor of the SMSU McFarland Library and are for in-house use only. A Reference Librarian is available to assist you during most hours the library is open.

Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Location: REF H41 .D53 2002
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues
Location: REF HN59.2 .E343 2011 v.1-4