Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: Reference Collection--3rd Floor NX440 .A787 2005
"Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume. Nine chapters follow, covering the major branches of the humanities: architecture and design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater and visual arts. Chapters begin with a chronology of major events within the discipline followed by articles covering the movements, schools of thought and masterworks that characterize the discipline during the era and biographical profiles of pioneers, masters and other prominent figures in the field. Chapters end with significant primary documents from the period."
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Call Number: Reference Collection--3rd Floor CB351 .D5413 2000 from:1 until:2
"Art and architecture (including the building of the great cathedrals), the growth of universities, developments in law, and scientific discoveries are all treated in the same depth as political history. Archaeological, geographical, historical, linguistic, philosophical and theological topics receive full treatment. Biographies of monarchs, bishops and major intellectual figures are included, as are descriptions of varying lengths of major ideas and beliefs"
Revelations, the Medieval World by
Call Number: D 117 .D33 1995
"The Middle Ages -- Castles, nobles, and knights: Keeps and strongholds, Dover Castle, Lords and vassals, The art of knighthood -- Town and country: Growth of towns, Florence, Seats of learning, Life of the manor, Farming the fields, The growth of trade, The great dying -- Houses of God: Dreaming spires, Interior glories, Cologne Cathedral, To be a pilgrim, The decline of the papacy -- The secluded life: Monks and monasteries, The Abbey of Cluny, Illuminated words, Heretics -- Into battle: Holy War, The fall of Constantinople, Siege warfare, The Hundred Years' War, The medieval armory"
Encyclopaedia of the Renaissance
Online encyclopedia. (Same title, different encyclopedia than the other listed by this title)
"Details in entries the broad range of events, people, ideas and movements that together have come to represent this era. The encyclopaedia also covers a complete range of general topics, including entries devoted to literature, music, philosophy, religion, science, technology, exploration, art, and architecture."
The Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Reference Collection - 3rd Floor N31 .D5 1996
"A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts."
Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature by
Online encyclopedia. "This A-to-Z encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference to the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Renaissance. Spanning the years from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE, this guide examines the history and development of literature as it flourished around the world during this period. Coverage includes not only European literature but also the people and works of China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, as well as written and oral literature of the New World, Africa, and Oceania."
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed publications in many areas of academic study including humanities, education, computer sciences, ethnic studies, and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select books and other materials.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A reference source that includes full text content covering a variety of major subjects.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos on variety of academic topics.
Sample of related resources
Daily Life in Renaissance Italy
Call Number: 4th Floor DG 445 .C48 2001
Women's Lives in Medieval Europe
Call Number: 4th Floor HQ 1143 .W65 1993
Daily Life in the Late Middle Ages
Call Number: 4th Floor DA 185 .D15 1998
Paris in the Middle Ages
Call Number: 4th Floor DC 707 .R67513 2009