Research Guides: ED 275: Foundations: Parent/Child Relationships: Reference Sources

Electronic Reference Books

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Publication Date: 2014
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965
Publication Date: 2007
Thematic essays address such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, and family relations. Comprehensive articles on immigration from the thirty most significant nations or regions of origin.
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
Publication Date: 2015
The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries arranged alphabetically. Search for entries about specific ethnicities and cultures.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Publication Date: 2003
Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.

Print Reference Sources

Try using these print Reference books (found on the 3rd floor of the Library) to gather background information on your culture. These books are for in-house use only, and in some cases you'll need to utilize the Table of Contents or Index to drill down to the information that supports your topic. If you need help finding these books or are off-campus and have questions about using them, please contact me at pam.gladis@smsu.edu

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Call Number: REF E184.A1 G14 1995 v.1-2
Multicultural America: A Multimedia Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF E184.A1 M8145 2013 v.1-4
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures & Daily Life
Call Number: REF GN333 .W67 2009 v.1-5

Cultural Areas

Print Encyclopedias found on 3rd floor of McFarland Library:
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
REF DS4 .L48 2002 v. 1-2
New Encyclopedia of Africa
REF DT2 .N48 2008 v.1-5
Encyclopedia of Africa
REF DT3 .E53 2010 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania
REF GN625 .W47 2009 v.1-2

Electronic Reference Resources

Britannica Online Encyclopedia - Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Full text of the most recent edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, with cross references to related articles and links to select web resources.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window A reference source that includes full text content covering a variety of major subjects.

The World Factbook The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities