Research Guides: ED 102: Technology: Classroom Applications and Portfolio Development: Article Databases

Where Do I Find Articles?

Articles (full text, abstracts, and citations) are found in databases. If you know the name of a database you need to use, go to the SMSU Library homepage and you can find it in A-Z List of Databases under Research Help.

You can also search your topic in One Search and retrieve articles. See the One Search tab for detailed instructions.

Databases Designed for Elementary and Middle School Researchers

Britannica Online Kids Edition
Designed for children 8-15 years old. Age-appropriate encyclopedia articles, online dictionary, thesaurus and world atlas. Grade-specific interactive learning activities for English & Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Sciences, all in an advertising-free environment . Step-by-step research and study guides. Thousands of images, videos, and statistics.
Britannica Online School Edition
Britannica Online School Edition is made up of four complete encyclopedias that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. This resource includes integrated searching of over 98,000 articles, over 27,000 graphics and 3,300 animations.
Junior Edition Designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Includes a "Teacher Toolbox."
Junior Reference Collection Targeted for middle schoolers, this database has a great selection of encyclopedias, primary sources, and multimedia content, including audio and video clips and more than 7,400 photographs. Covers history, literature, science, social studies, and more.
Kids InfoBits This database is designed especially for Kindergarten through Grade 5 and covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Includes a "Teacher Toolbox."
MAS Complete
Designed for high school students. Contains full text for hundreds of popular magazines and e-books covering news, politics, science, sports, culture and more. It also includes thousands of full-text primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press.
Middle Search Plus
Provides full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines, reference material, and biographies. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Primary Search
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research.
Research in Context Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Science Reference Source
A full-text database containing hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, and science magazines geared towards middle and high school students. Topics include: biology, chemistry, environmental science, history of science, scientist biographies, and technology.
Student Edition Designed for high-school students with access to magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Includes a "Teacher Toolbox."
Student Resources in Context Student Resources in Context covers a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. It provides a premium selection of reference tools, thousands of full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, vetted websites, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts.

Education Databases

The following databases are most pertinent to education-related research topics:

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Articles, abstracts and book chapters for K-12 teachers and librarians.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Includes all levels of education and specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, many books, and conference papers.

Additional Databases

Deciding which database to use depends on your topic(s). While the education-related databases listed in the above box work for most topics, there are some areas of research related to education that would be included in the following databases as well:

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window The database includes full text for over 450 journals in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
MegaFile This link opens in a new window Thousands of popular and scholarly publications across all academic disciplines and subject areas. Comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Covers psychology and adjacent fields, and features scholarly articles and trade publications.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text from more than 415 journals.

Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that contains national and international statistics and studies.