Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use search tips such as putting "quotation marks" around words you want kept together in your search. The databases will look for each word separately unless you tell them you want them searched as a phrase.
For example, you might try putting in the terms "domestic violence" in quotes and then adding adolescent as an additional term. This will ensure the words "domestic violence" are next to each other when it searches the database which should result in a more focused search. The word adolescent could be found anywhere in the record.
If words are typed into the search box in a string such as domestic violence adolescent, the database would look for those words anywhere in the record. This is not always a poor option, but sometimes putting quotation marks around the terms helps narrow the search.
Keep in mind that if you do use quotes, put them around terms that make sense next to each other. If you put "domestic violence adolescent" in quotes, the database needs to find those three words in a row. That's not likely to happen very often, so you've greatly reduced the effectiveness of your search. Anything in quotes needs to be found in the article record or text exactly as you typed it.
Take advantage of the truncation symbol * -- the asterisk used at the end of a word tells the search engine you want all forms of that word.
For example, putting the * after the s in immers* will search for immerse, immersed, immersion, etc. all in one search. Another example would be putting the * after the n in violen* so you could search for violent and violence in the same search.
This will result in a larger search result set...so if your search is already too big, this isn't a great tool to use. On the other hand, if you're not sure you're getting a good glimpse at all of the articles you should be, then doing a truncation search can help you see more!
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCriminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides hundreds of top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
Since the majority of our databases that work well for your Criminal Justice/Sociology topics are indexed in our ProQuest databases, you could consider searching multiple Social Scienes databases at once using the following link:
This is a select list of databases from the A-Z Resource List. Be sure to ask at the Research Help Desk if you're needing guidance on which database to use.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed publications in many areas of academic study including humanities, education, computer sciences, ethnic studies, and social sciences.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to millions of journal articles, books, and reports in the education field, including a growing collection of links to full-text. Includes citations to educational and general psychology literature.
Newsstream: US News Sources This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage from top psychology and related publications.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage includes material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCovers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.