Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start with these Databases
Here are several databases that may prove useful in your research:
Newsstream: US News Sources This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed publications in many areas of academic study including humanities, education, computer sciences, ethnic studies, and social sciences.
Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics and studies from more than 18,000 sources.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. The database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Need More Options?
If you didn't find everything you were looking for in the recommended databases, do some searching in these additional databases or peruse the A-Z List:
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowGreat for argumentative essays or persuasive speeches, this full-text database provides controversial essays on multiple sides of a current issue. Articles are accompanied by supporting articles from top political and societal publications.
GreenFile This link opens in a new windowOffers research-based information on all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and more. Many documents contain linked full-text.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text from more than 415 journals.
- Put phrases in quotes: "police brutality" "human trafficking" "strip mining"
- Look for the "subject" tab on the left side of the page for Ebsco databases and the right side of the page for Proquest databases. Click include (or exclude, as applicable) to narrow your result list.
- Narrow by date range
- Narrow by 'full-text'
- Narrow by type of document: scholarly, peer-reviewed, magazine, newspaper