Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Start
Each database has a different purpose and contains different information. Some databases are better for scholarly information, while others will be more useful for statistics or news articles.The databases listed in the next columns are recommended starting points for your research regarding public relations. They are not the only options, though! If you're not finding what you need, explore the complete list of databases in the A-Z Database List, and if you need help choosing the best database for your needs, feel free to ask a librarian!
What's in a Database?
Databases contain many different types of resources such as:
- newspaper articles
- magazine articles
- scholarly journal articles
- book reviews
- conference proceedings
- trade publications
- even some books
It is important to be able to tell the differences between these resources as well as know which resources are appropriate for your research. Check out the Periodical/Journal Chart to learn the difference between some of these resources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed publications in many areas of academic study including humanities, education, computer sciences, ethnic studies, and social sciences.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 2,100 business discipline journals is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. The database includes full text for over 450 journals.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text of popular magazines and reference books, book reviews, biographies, primary source documents, and images, covering consumer information, education, health, science, social science, arts, current events, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCovers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature.
PR Resource Subscriptions
Here is a list of the PR resources that SMSU subscribes to and the databases where you can access them.
Newsstream: US News Sources This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Newsstand is an excellent database for locating news articles from regional, national, and even some international newspapers.
We subscribe to several databases containing statistical information on a variety of subjects. You might also find statistical information in some of the resources listed in the Government Information tab of this research guide.
Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics and studies from more than 18,000 sources.
Statista is a great database for finding statistics and infographics on many different topics that can serve as informative and attractive additions to PowerPoints, websites, and other various projects.
Mergent Intellect contains a variety of information including census data, industry reports, employer information, and much more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos on variety of academic topics.
Films on Demand contains full length videos and video clips on a variety of academic topics including many on the topic of public relations.
Public Relations Journals
Explore top Pubic Relations Journals with BrowZine