Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where Do I Find Articles?
Articles (full text, abstracts, and citations) are found in databases. If you know the name of a database you want to use, go to the SMSU Library homepage and you'll find the complete listing of SMSU's databases:
Click the A to Z Database List tab on the library homepage.
Watch the video about Accessing Databases Off-Campus for a visual walk-through.
The following databases are most pertinent to education-related research topics:
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes all levels of education and specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, many books, and conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to millions of journal articles, books, and reports in the education field, including a growing collection of links to full-text. Includes citations to educational and general psychology literature.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowArticles, abstracts and book chapters for K-12 teachers and librarians.
Deciding which database to use depends on your topic(s). While the education-related databases listed in the adjacent column work for most topics, there are some areas of research related to education that would be included in the following databases as well:
MegaFile This link opens in a new windowMegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage from top psychology and related publications.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage includes material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text from more than 415 journals.