Creating a MyEBSCO account is an optional tool that provides several additional features that are especially useful in graduate level research. Read below for some of the features that may help you be more efficient in your research.
This is the EBSCO icon that displays when you are in an EBSCO database. EBSCO is the name of the database vendor; that's who we purchase access rights through.
Once you are logged into EBSCOhost, you will a darker blue border across the top and you can see your name in the upper right hand corner of the screen.
If you are unable to view the video on this page (or prefer a written version), the transcript is available here:
When you are in an EBSCO database (e.g., Education Research Complete), select the Sign In option across the top tool bar; it's on the right-hand side. The first time you sign in, you'll need to create an account. It's a simple form. You can create your own user name and password. This account will work in all EBSCO databases. I recommend using your StarID as your username. Please note this is not affiliated with SMSU so if you forget your password for EBSCO, we are not able to assist with retrieving it.
During a session, your search history is retained. You can go back and review the searches you've completed. Most of us aren't good at documenting the search terms we use, so this Search History tracks that for us. You can view previous results, revise search strategies, or use the searches to set up an alert.
The Search History disappears after you close your browser window.
Want the database to do some searching on your topic for you? Set up a search alert and the database will "push" articles out to you as they get added to the database. You'll want to make sure you have a well-defined search strategy in place so you're only receiving messages on targeted results.
To set up a Search Alert, click on the SHARE link near the top right side of the page. Under there you will see a Create an Alert option - Email Alert. Select desired options. NOTE: You do have to be logged into you MyEBSCO account to use the Alert feature.
This video clip will walk you through the process of creating your own MyEBSCO account, saving items to your folder, creating a search alert, and viewing your search history. After you start the video, click the box in the lower right-hand corner to enlarge the video.