Research Guides: Music: Articles

Start with these databases

The following three databases are the best starting point for research related to music:

MegaFile This link opens in a new window MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text archive of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select books and other materials.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Includes all levels of education and specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, many books, and conference papers.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window The database includes full text for over 450 journals in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.

Need help?

Talk to us!

Call us: 507-537-6176

Email us: askref@smsu.edu

Visit the Research Help Desk (on the third floor)

Need more options?

If you weren't able to find what you were looking for, try these instead:

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text articles in humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage includes material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Covers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a great place to begin your research, especially if the topic is new to you and you're uncertain of what kinds of keywords you should be using to find articles in library databases.

If you're on campus, the books and articles at the SMSU Library are automatically linked up to your Google Scholar results. Never fear, however-- you can connect Google Scholar to the SMSU Library from wherever you are.

Here's what you do:

go to scholar.google.com
click on "settings" (the icon looks like a gear)
click on "library links" on the left side of the page
type in "Southwest Minnesota State University"
checkmark the two boxes that appear beneath the search box with SMSU's name next to them
click save

If you have a Google account, as long as you're logged in, Google will remember that you are searching SMSU. If you don't have an account, you'll need to repeat this process every time you open a new browser window or search on a new computer.