It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Management-focused databases listed in the next column are recommended starting points for your research. They are not the only options, though, so if you're not finding what you need, explore the complete list of databases in the A-Z Database Listor ask a Librarian!
Business Source PremierThis link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 2,100 business discipline journals is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. The database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Financial information about companies, mutual funds, EFTs, markets and more.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowCovers authoritative titles from the core scientific literature.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowStatistics and studies from more than 18,000 sources.
Value LineThis link opens in a new windowA vast array of financial measures for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities.
What's in a Database?
Databases contain many different types of resources such as:
scholarly journal articles
even some books
It is important to be able to tell the differences between these resources as well as know which resources are appropriate for your research. Check out the table on the Good vs. Bad Sources tab to learn the differences between some of these resources.
Google Scholar is another search tool you can use to find articles. Scholar indexes scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, but note that many are not available full-text.
SMSU has it set up so that if you search in the databases, but it's not full-text in any of our databases, we'll recommend looking in Google Scholar. If you start your search in Google Scholar instead of the databases and you're on campus, you'll see a similar function in Google Scholar as we have it set up to push back to our databases if we have it full-text there. You'll see the "search for full-text" link in the right-hand column. Unfortunately, this functionality doesn't work off-campus. That's why I would recommend beginning your search in the databases; you'll find many more full-text articles there and/or be able to quickly and easily submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.
So knowing that the article might be full-text in the database or you could interlibrary loan a copy, you'd never purchase an article, right?